• Welcome back to Pokécharms! We've recently launched a new site and upgraded forums, so there may be a few teething issues as everything settles in. Please see our Relaunch FAQs for more information.

Ask to Join Musicians and Magicians

What's up gamers, it's your girl back (jk, this is my first rp post) for another rp.

If you couldn't tell by the title, this rp is gonna be your standard fantasy world, but with a twist. Magic is used through music. I'll get into the nitty gritty details in a bit don't worry.

Before we jump into the magic system, I just wanna do some housekeeping. First off, you can imagine this world as pretty similar to a standard dungeons and dragons campaign. Elves, Orcs, Dwarves, all that JAZZ (god I'm funny). Swords, bows, axes, etc are in fashion when it comes to weaponry. Technology wise, you can imagine the world as in the medieval europe, but like magical.

Now, to the good stuff: music. Before we get into this, just a full disclaimer: I am not a musician. I have no idea how to play an instrument, and you don't need to either to participate. Also, if you have ideas to further refine this system, please feel free to give feedback. If I say something that doesn't make sense, please tell me and we'll figure out how to fix it.

First off, some lore and worldbuilding.

The continent this adventure takes place on is called Harmonia (I pulled it from the greek muse of harmony and concord. Harmony is a music term as well as a way to describe an ideal life to some people). Harmonia is made up of several small kingdoms, some peaceful, some not. For each kingdom, a different genre of music reigns supreme. I havemn't even come up with the kingdom names, so when you are applying and state your kingdom, please feel free to be creative (just state if it's peaceful, and what genre they specialize in. Multiple kingdom's can specialize in the same genre.)