• Welcome back to Pokécharms! We've recently launched a new site and upgraded forums, so there may be a few teething issues as everything settles in. Please see our Relaunch FAQs for more information.

Heart Gold Team - Starting Point looking for improvements

Okay, so my friend Hejin (who made a topic here: http://www.pokecharms.com/forums/http://www.pokecharms.com/phpbb/viewtopic.php?t=5) led me to this forum, and I read around a bit and thought it seemed like a nice place. These are a few of the Pokemon I've trained throughout my adventure, with fairly little thought about EVs, natures, and team synergy, but it's a starting point. I just really want a general idea of what direction I should go with my team, because I've never done much competitive battling before and I thought it would be fun (I am/was a competitive Starcraft and Heroes of Newerth player). I'll list my current "team" out for you guys, and hopefully you'll have a few ideas - items, movesets, nature advice, and Pokemon that aren't good choices in general would all be appreciated. I'll give a few of my own

SCIZOR Lv. 100 @ Muscle Band [Naughty]
Technician

X-Scissor
Night Slash
Wing Attack
Swords Dance

ATK 336
DEF 232
SP ATK 152
SP DEF 166
SPD 174

Notes: I plan to teach him Iron Head, but what move to delete? His nature is decent (good enough) and hopefully his EVs aren't too screwed that I'd have to retrain another one, but if it really sucks hard then I could do so.

JOLTEON Lv. 77 @ Magnet [Gentle]
Volt Absorb

Thunderbolt
Thunder
Thunder Wave
Double Kick

ATK 151
DEF 106
SP ATK 212
SP DEF 196
SPD 239

Notes: I really have no idea what to do with him, only trained/used him because I think he's an awesome Pokemon (haven't bothered giving him different moves yet :p). Double Kick obviously needs to go, Thunder as well - what are decent moves to replace those? Nature is not optimal but at least it doesn't smash his purpose into the ground.

EMPOLEON Lv. 87 @ Wise Glasses/Leftovers (?) [Modest]