• Welcome back to Pokécharms! We've recently launched a new site and upgraded forums, so there may be a few teething issues as everything settles in. Please see our Relaunch FAQs for more information.

DPPt/HGSS Rydon help

In Platinum, I'm trying to train a Rydon for a battle with my cousin. I'm not good at training so I really need help here. Here's the info:

EDIT: Rhydon had strength replaced with Earthquake

Lv: 60
Nature: Bold
Moves: Stone Edge
Hammer Arm
Earthquake
Horn Drill
Other Stats: Attack: 171
Defense: 191
Sp. Atk: 74
Sp. Def: 90
Speed: 72

I've lately found that his moves don't hit as often as I'd like, wich is why I need help that I know of. Please inform me of what I can do.

Since you never listed any I take it that you don't use EVs?

The nature is unfortunate, as attack is one of Rhydon's top two attacks and your nature neuters it.

As far as moves go, not a very accurate move set nor diverse.

Stone Edge is fine. OHKO moves are a big no-no. Strength just doesn't cut it. Hammer Arm isn't too bad, but I would suggest instead:

Stone Edge
Earthquake
Fire Punch
Take Down (if he has Rock Head)

I wish I could figure out EV's. For a long time I thought EV training ment leveling up an Eevee. ;D

Anyways, Rydon does have rockhead. I wasn't planning on keeping strenth. I just needed him to know it for a little outing anyway. I'm thinking replace strength with Earthquake.

So far I'm really planning to replace Strength and Horn Drill. What I really need is to figure out how to get his accuracy up. He's slow which doesn't help I'd bet.

Before I really start changes I'd like a few more move options. Might breed for other nature. If anyone has a way to work around that it'd be appreciated.

Accuracy has nothing to do with the Pokemon or their speed, it has to do with the move. Horn Drill only has a 30% chance to hit. It isn't Rhydon's fault he misses, it's the move.