• Welcome back to Pokécharms! We've recently launched a new site and upgraded forums, so there may be a few teething issues as everything settles in. Please see our Relaunch FAQs for more information.

Who was the hardest gym leader for you to beat?

I mean out of all the pokemon versions who was the one gym leader that made you want to throw your gameboy/DS at the wall? Mine was sabrina back then in red version 'cause i picked pokemon on my team who had a weakness to psychic =/ like haunter, hitmonlee, nidoking.. Except charizard but he didnt do that well against alakazam. But that was back then when i was a rookie trainer. So what was your worst gym leader experience?

Except for my current Soul Silver run, its always been Whitney. In my old Silver, Crystal and Soul Silver games, her Miltank has always given me grief. I never really saw why or how, it just did.

Roxanne tore me apart during my Emerald Nuzlocke Challenge too :(

Gardenia is the cruelest person in the whole world. No lie. I hate her Pokemon, and I want her to DIE. Back in the days of being a rookie, I got to her and I thought I had a good team. That was until I met her. I had a Prinplup, a Bidoof, a Starly, a Shinx, and a Pachirisu. And possibly a Ponyta. Fail. Her Turtwig was easy with a Bide, but her Cherrim was another thing. I rarely got to Roserade. She caused me to go bankrupt! I had to resort to an Action replay to kill her. But oh my god, Gardenia is such a freaking witch, I'm not even kidding.

Last edited by a moderator:
Pokemon Yellow and Brock, how the hell you could win I have no clue, I ended up overtraining a spearow so i could beat him xD (i was 7/8 at the time so i was unaware about butterfree and psychic)
I hated the challangers on Sabrina and the fire type one in R/S/E (forgotten her name) , that took me forever to get me to the gymleader,
But the worst ones would be the ones where the type is equal or to my disadvantage