• Welcome back to Pokécharms! We've recently launched a new site and upgraded forums, so there may be a few teething issues as everything settles in. Please see our Relaunch FAQs for more information.

What is Love?

What does love mean to you?

The reason why I'm posting this is because I'm currently listening to "I Will," from the old FMA, or Fullmetal Alchemist. And it got me thinking, what do I think about the way I love people?

To be honest, I'm not a people person. At least, in public. Plus, I study people before I actually "talk" to them.

Getting away from the point though, I view love as... something chemical in the brain, but also something immeasurable. Or rather, incomprehensible.

Love, to me, is important on loving yourself before loving anyone else. I learned that the hard way.

Now that I mention it, I'm still learning.

So how do you love?

P.S. If this didn't make any sense, please let me know, and I'll try and fix it.

Rex

Resident Furry
Love is an emotion of strong affection and personal attachment. Like all emotions, it is a complex psychophysiological experience of one's state of mind interacting with environmental and biochemical influences. Philosophically, love is a virtue, representing all of humanity's kindness, compassion, and affection. It may also be understood as part of the Survival Instinct of humans, banding humans together against menaces and facilitating the continuation of the species as a whole.

In English, love refers to a variety of feelings, ranging from simple pleasure, to interpersonal attraction. It may also refer to the passion and desires of Romantic Love, to Sexual Love, to the emotional closeness of Familial Love, or to the Platonic Love that defines friendships. This diversity makes Love difficult to consistently describe, even in comparison to other emotions.