• Welcome back to Pokécharms! We've recently launched a new site and upgraded forums, so there may be a few teething issues as everything settles in. Please see our Relaunch FAQs for more information.

The best competitive uses of the move "Trick"

Linkachu

Hero of Pizza
Staff member
Administrator
I need advice with how to most effectively use the attack Trick, but in doing so I'd also like to read how some of you guys enjoy using it.

If you're someone who likes using the attack Trick in competitive battling, what are your tactics? Which held items do you like swapping the most? Are there specific types of Pokemon you focus on when using the attack (Ie. sweepers, tanks, stallers/annoyers), or do you judge things based on the actual stats of the Pokemon that you're facing? Etc. Etc.

I've never used Trick before so my tactics are quite shallow, but I could see it being very effective to use it against a staller/annoyer/support Pokemon and trade off one of the Choice items. That's pretty well the main use that comes to mind for me...

I had a battle where two Pokemon use Trick to swap a Choice item to each other once, that was amusing :p

Usually its best to swap off a Choice item, I think. It completely cripples something that needs to set up or stall or whatever.

KoL

Expert FPS Player
Staff member