• Welcome back to Pokécharms! We've recently launched a new site and upgraded forums, so there may be a few teething issues as everything settles in. Please see our Relaunch FAQs for more information.

competitive pikachu

let me start off by saying, i know pikachu isnt all that great for competitive battling...but i just love the damn little thing and i wanted to see if i could come up with one that would do ok. so here is what i have so far im by no means a pro at this so any help would be appreciated.
pokemon black
pikachu @ light ball
timid nature
static
252 in speed and sp. attack remaining in hp
volt switch
grass knot
toxic
facade

The thing with Pikachu is: it's pitiful. The only thing it has going for it is Light Ball, but a simple Knock Off or the ever-present Trick will just completely screw it over. It doesn't help that the slightest poke from priority will kill it, and base 90 speed just isn't enough to really cut it in the metagame when you can only hope to put a major dent in something at best. Pikachu is outclassed by almost every other Electric-type.

Pikachu can Sub/Punch, hitting some specially defensive walls hard with the right investment into Attack; it can Encore things, Sub, then Focus Punch. Volt Switch just pisses the opponent off, but good luck hitting something with it. With Encore/Substitute, Pika can Nasty Plot to boost its Special Attack to some impressive levels, but again: its Speed lets it down. HP Ice can put the hurt on some counters for him, and Volt Tackle can do some damage-but Pikachu's low 35 base HP means that he'll be gone in the blink of an eye.

If you run mixed, put max out Speed and split between Attack and Special Attack. Full Special means full Speed and Sp.Atk. Timid on Full Special, and Hasty or Naive for Mixed.

Pikachu's not going give good results, but if you're lucky, you might score a KO.